12 Special Courts For Cases Against MPs & MLAs

Wed Dec 13 2017 10:51:17 GMT+0530 (IST)

Complying with the orders of Supreme Court, Centre took a historic decision in an attempt to end the long delay in the prosecution of Political Leaders faced criminal charges. Tainted Politicians who hardly bother about the law of the land will have a tough time from now.

As many as 12 Special Courts will be established to deal exclusively with the criminal cases booked against 1,581 MPs and MLAs in the country. A deadline of one year has been fixed to deliver the verdict in these cases.

Two Special Courts would handle cases filed against 228 MPs. A Special Court is gonna be set up in each one of these 10 States (Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Bihar, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh). The count of tainted Lawmakers surpassed 65 in these Indian States.

Union Government would assign 165 Cases to each of these Special Courts. A fund of Rs 7.80 crore was sanctioned for successfully accomplishing this mission within an year.

Count of Criminal Cases faced by MPs/MLAs:

1) Maharashtra - 160

2) Uttar Pradesh - 143

3) Bihar - 141

4) West Bengal - 107

5) Kerala - 87

6) Andhra Pradesh - 84

7) Tamil Nadu - 75

8) Karnataka - 73

9) Madhya Pradesh - 70

10) Telangana - 67