Congress Okays 8 TDP Leaders, But Doesn't Give Seats Of Choice

Sat Oct 20 2018 22:19:09 GMT+0530 (IST)

The Congress has reportedly okayed the names of eight key TDP leaders for Telangana elections. The Congress, which is prepared to give up to 15 seats to the TDP, has so far agreed on eight seats. The leaders whose names have been approaved are Sandra Venkata Veeraiah, Kothakota Dayakar Reddy, Ravula Chandrasekhar Reddy, Peddi Reddy, Aravinda Goud, LV Ramana, Devender Goud and Nama Nageswara Rao.  These are all senior TDP leaders and have held key positions in the party and in the Government.

But wait!! There is a problem. These leaders may not get the seats of their choice. For instance, Peddireddy wants to contest from Kukatpalli, which has a very high settler vote. But, the Congress is insisting that he contest from elsewhere as the Congress wants to fight from Kukatpalli. Ditto with Telangana TDP president LV Ramana. Ramana has traditionally fought elections from Jagityal. However, the seat is currently held by Congress stalwart Jeevan Reddy and he is in no mood to vacate the seat. So, Ramana will be left with no option but to contest from neighbouring Korutla.  The Congress wants another TDP biggie T Devender Goud to contest either from Rajendranagar or Maheswaram. But, Devender Goud is not interested to contest the election this time. He is more interested to ensure that his son Veerendra Goud to contests and wins. Veerendra wants to contest from Uppal constituency. Devender Goud wants to focus on Uppal and ensure his son wins from there

So, each of these TDP leaders is happy at being okayed, but unhappy at not getting the seats of their choice. Let's see how they manage things and win the elections.