Date Locked for Rajya Sabha Polls

Fri Feb 23 2018 22:25:52 GMT+0530 (IST)

Election for as many as 58 Rajya Sabha seats is gonna happen on March 23rd, 2018. Election Commission issued the schedule in this regard on Friday.

March 13th has been set as the deadline for filing nominations. The last day for withdrawal of nominations has been March 15th. Results will be announced on the same day of election (23rd March).

From AP and Telangana, Term of Three MPs each gonna end soon. This include Chiranjeevi, Renuka Chowdhury, Devender Goud and CM Ramesh. Which means, As many as Six New Members from Telugu States will get elected to the Upper House.

Although Ruling Parties is AP and Telangana doesn't have the required numbers to win 3 Rajya Sabha Seats each, They have been desperately trying to bag all of them using the support of defector MLAs and other Parties. Is that gonna work or not?