RS Deputy Chairman Poll: Close Shave For NDA!

Thu Aug 09 2018 14:06:12 GMT+0530 (IST)

NDA Government managed to emerge victorious in the Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman election by a slight margin. It must be said that Congress & other Opposition Parties in the country had made Modi & Co. work so hard for the victory.

In the election, NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh bagged 125 votes. He is a former Journalist & three-time MP of Biju Janata Dal Party. Whereas, Congress Candidate BK Hariprasad received 105 votes.

While regional parties TDP, TMC, DMK and NCP voted for Congress Candidate, TRS, BJD and AIADMK backed NDA Candidate. Parties like YSR Congress, AAP and PDP skipped voting.

As few parties abstained from voting, Total Count of Rajya Sabha came down to 237 and the required magic figure is only 119. NDA managed to over the threat of defeat by just 6 votes. A bit more effort from Congress could have changed the result in it's favour.