President Approves Disqualification Of 20 MLAs

Sun Jan 21 2018 17:22:48 GMT+0530 (IST)

President Ramnath Kovind has approved a recommendation by the Election Commission to disqualify 20 Aam Aadmi Party MLAs for allegedly holding office of profit (Appointing MLAs as Parliamentary Secretaries). MLAs who faced disqualification - Alka Lamba, Manoj Kumar, Adarsh Shastri, Sanjeev Jha, Rajesh Gupta, Nitin Tyagi, Kailash Gehlot, Vijendra Garg, Praveen Kumar, Sharad Kumar, Shiv Charan Goyal, Sarita Singh, Naresh Yadav, Rajesh Rishi, Anil Kumar, Som Dutt, Avtar Singh, Sukhvir Singh Dala and Madan Lal Khufiya. This situation could lead to by-election in Delhi within six months.

Congress Party alleges BJP and Election Commission has delayed the disqualification of AAP MLAs by three weeks. Ajay Maken complains, 'Had if the MLAs were disqualified on December 22nd, They couldn't have been voted for the Rajya Sabha polls'.

BJP, however, denies mounting any pressure on Election Commission in this matter. Aam Aadmi Party is likely to approach Delhi High Court or Supreme Court against the disqualification.  

The strength of AAP in 70-member Delhi Assembly has fallen to 47 after President of India approved EC recommendation.