How Congress Stunned BJP In Jayanagar?

Thu Jun 14 2018 12:14:21 GMT+0530 (IST)

By emerging victorious in Jayanagar Assembly Constituency, Congress retained it's firm control over Bengaluru. The National Party currently holds 15 out of 28 Assembly Seats in the capital city. While BJP managed to have 11, JD (S) settled for two.

Congress Candidate Sowmya Reddy won by a margin of 2,889 votes against BJP Candidate BN Prahalad Babu.

BJP feels lack of coordination between leaders led to the defeat. When BN Prahalad Babu was named as BJP Candidate, Five out of the six councillors revolted against the party leadership. While Four of them joined campaign putting their differences aside only a week before polling, One of them backed the Congress Candidate. Even BJP Topbrass Leaders joined the campaign only in the last leg stage. BS Yeddyurappa campaigned for just a day.

Deceased MLA Vijay Kumar's Son Prahalad was fielded by BJP. Saffron Party failed to capitalize on the sympathy wave due to internal disputes. This result has sent an indication that Kannadigas are in favour of the Congress-JD(S) Government.