What About Geetha, SPY & Butta?

Wed Jun 06 2018 17:25:03 GMT+0530 (IST)

As expected, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan accepted the resignations of YSR Congress MPs in June 1st Week. And now, AP's Main Opposition don't have representation in the Lower House of Parliament.

Five YCP MPs (Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy - Nellore, YV Subba Reddy - Ongole, Y Avinash Reddy - Kadapa, V Varaprasad Reddy - Tirupati, P Mithun Reddy - Tirupati) submitted resignations on April 6th in protest against denial of Special Category Status. Speaker took exactly two months to accept their resignations and it's been a tactical move to prevent by-elections.

What about three more MPs of YSR Congress? Actually, YCP won 8 MP Seats in 2019 Lok Sabha Polls. Whereas, Araku MP Kothapalli Geetha, Nandyal MP SPY Reddy and Kurnool MP Butta Renuka shifted loyalties to other parties. While SPY Reddy & Butta Renuka are currently in TDP, Kothapalli Geetha is inclining towards BJP.

Despite quitting YCP, None of these three MPs tendered resignations to their post. They still continue as YCP MPs in the Lok Sabha records. Soon after their resignations were accepted, Five YCP MPs submitted a petition to Lok Sabha Speaker seeking disqualification of three other MPs. 'Either these MPs should resign or Speaker must disqualify them. They can't continue as YCP MPs even after joining other parties,' opined the 5 Former MPs.