Will Bandaru Dattatreya Contest For Assembly This Time?

Thu Aug 23 2018 15:33:48 GMT+0530 (IST)

Will BJP bigwig and former union minister Bandaru Dattatreya fight the assembly elections this time? There is a strong buzz in the BJP circles that he will.

Dattatreya, who began his political career, by contesting from Maharajganj (now merged into Goshamahal) assembly constituency twice. He lost both the times and then fought the MP elections from Secunderabad. He won thrice and lost thrice. This time around, sources say that he may not be fielded for MP seat as Narendra Modi is planning to reture all 70+ politicians. So, he might be asked to contest for MLA seat.

The BJP is now scouting for candidates for the assembly in view of the possibility of KCR advancing the assembly polls. With the MP elections being held later, the BJP is asking even its MP candidates to contest for the assembly this time. Accordingly, Kishan Reddy, who wants to fight for Secunderabad MP seat, will contest from Amberpet and Raja Singh, who is Goshamahal MLA, will contest from Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat. MLC N Ramachandra Rao, who is eyeing Malkajgiri MP seat, may be fielded from Malkajgiri assembly seat. Similarly, leaders lke Yendala Lakshminarayana, Aravind Dharmapur, all sitting MLAs, Perala Sekhar, P Muralidhar Rao and others would also be asked to run for the assembly.