Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Scientist Yashpal, Dravid, Mary Kom get Padma honours

By:  Tupaki Desk   |   25 Jan 2013 5:58 PM GMT
Noted scientists Yashpal and Roddam Narasimha, cricketer Rahul Dravid, actor Rajesh Khanna and comedian Jaspal Bhatti (both posthumous), and boxer Mary Kom, are among the 108 eminent and illustrious personalities named for India's highest civilian honours, Padma awards, this year.

According to a release from the home ministry Friday, President Pranab Mukherjee approved the names of the 108 awardees, who include four Padma Vibhushan, 24 Padma Bhushan and 80 Padma Shri.

As many as 24 of the awardees are women.

Among the Padma Vibhushan awardees are Yashpal, Roddam Narasimha and artist S. Haider Ali Raza.

Among the Padma Bhushan awardees are actors Rajesh Khanna and Sharmila Tagore, Bhatti, industrialist Adi Godrej, as well as Dravid and Mary Kom.

Actor Nana Patekar, Urdu poet Nida Fazli, wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, boxer Dingko Singh, filmmaker Ramesh Sippy, Magsaysay Award winner Nileema Mishra, Olympic medallist Vijay Kumar are among the Padma Shri awardees.

The country's top civilian awards are given under various disciplines like arts, literature, social work, public affairs, medicine, and sports.

Padma Vibhushan is given for exceptional and distinguished service, Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field.