Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Telangana Congress MPs differ over quitting

By:  Tupaki Desk   |   31 Jan 2013 3:08 AM GMT
Differences cropped up among Congress MPs from Telangana on their decision to resign over the delay in the formation of a separate Telangana state.

Madhu Yaskhi, one of the seven MPs who had announced their decision to resign, told reporters in New Delhi Wednesday evening that there was no need to quit after Congress spokesperson P.C. Chacko said that the party is not against Telangana state.

Ponnam Prabhakar, who was also reported to have backtracked on the resignation, clarified Wednesday night that he stood by the decision to quit.

Five other MPs said there was no going back on the decision to resign. S. Rajaiah even claimed that resignations of all seven MPs along with a letter were submitted to the office of Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

It was only after this that Chacko told a press conference that the party is not against the formation of Telangana, He said the party was in the process of taking a decision.

The MPs had Monday decided to resign both from the Parliament and the party.

They had also announced that a letter along with the resignations would be submitted to Sonia Gandhi, requesting her to forward the resignations to Lok Sabha speaker if the party is unable to take a decision for carving out Telangana state.