Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Hectic lobbying begins for Rajya Sabha elections in both Telugu States

By:  Tupaki Desk   |   13 May 2022 6:02 AM GMT
Hectic lobbying begins for Rajya Sabha elections in both Telugu States
A poll bugle of a different sort has been sounded in both the Telugu states. The elections to the six vacancies in both the Telugu states would be held on June 10 and the notification for the election would be issued on May 24. The hectic political activity is being witnessed in both the states over the selection of the candidates.

Interestingly, in both the states, the respective ruling parties - the TRS in Telangana and the YSRCP in Andhra Pradesh - have bulldozer majorities and are set to bag all the seats. Four seats are up for the grabs in Andhra Pradesh while two seats are falling vacant in Telangana. Hectic lobbying is already on in both the states for Rajya Sabha tickets.

In Andhra Pradesh, the term of Rajya Sabha MPs - TG Venkatesh, Suresh Prabhu, V Vijay Sai Reddy and Sujana Chowdary - will expire on June 21. Two of the outgoing MPs are from the TDP, while one each is from the BJP and the YSRCP. The YSRCP is likely to bag all the four seats as it has a complete majority in the state assembly. The political careers of both TG Venkatesh and Sujana Chowdary could possibly end with this term. Suresh Prabhu is reportedly being considered for the President's post.

As for Telangana, the terms of both the TRS MPs - Capt Lakshmikantha Rao and Dharmapuri Srinivas are coming to an end. D Srinivas's political career spanning several decades too could come to an end. Sources say that he is likely to join the Congress Party, but the party does not have the required numbers to send him to the Rajya Sabha again.