Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

PV Sindhu adds another feather to her cap

By:  Tupaki Desk   |   29 Aug 2016 1:33 PM GMT
PV Sindhu adds another feather to her cap
Union Government honoured Olympic Silver Medallist PV Sindhu, Broze Medallist Sakshi Malik, Gymnast Dipa Karmakar and Shooter Jitu Rai with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award on Monday. While fifteen other sportspersons were conferred with Arjuna Award, Six bagged Dronacharya award and Three received Dhyan Chand Award.

President Pranab Mukherjee presented the awards to the Winners in New Delhi Today. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh. Whereas, Arjuna, Dhyan Chand and Dronacharya Awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.

Retired Delhi High Court Judge SK Agarwal heads the Selection Committee for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards. Boxer Mary Kom will head the Selection Committee for Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awards.

Indian Cricketer Ajinkya Rahane, who was chosen for Arjuna award, couldn't present for the award ceremony as he is in USA for the T20 series against West Indies.

Wrestler Vinesh who suffered a knee injury during the 2nd round of Rio Olympics received Arjuna award seated on wheelchair.