Crisis Deepens: 10 Cong MLAs Jump Into BJP!

Wed Jul 10 2019 22:26:15 GMT+0530 (IST)

What happened in Karnataka is now repeating in Goa! 10 MLAs of Goa Congress have submitted their resignations to the Speaker only to join the Ruling BJP.

On Wednesday evening, Goa Congress MLAs led by Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar met Speaker Rajesh Patnekar to convey they have disassociated themselves from their party.

After this development, Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant met the Rebel MLAs and welcomed them into the BJP. He said, 'The strength of BJP has increased to 27 after the joining of 10 Congress MLAs. They joined BJP unconditionally'.

BJP which is the single largest party in Goa with 17 MLAs formed the Government with the support of alliance partner and independents. Revolt of 10 MLAs brought down the strength of Goa Congress to 5 from 15. And now, BJP have 27 MLAs to complete the full term successfully.