12 Congress MLAs Propose CLP Merger With TRS

Thu Jun 06 2019 18:19:51 GMT+0530 (IST)

As many as 12 Telangana Congress MLAs moved the proposal of Congress Legislature Party (CLP) merger with TRS on Thursday. The Congress Rebels submitted a letter to Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy seeking merger of CLP with the Ruling Party. Upon offering the representation to the Speaker, All of them went to CM KCR's Office-cum-Residence Pragati Bhavan.

Soon after this development, PCC Chief Uttam Kumar Reddy, CLP Leader Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, Shabbir Ali, Sridhar Babu and few other Congress Leaders staged a protest at the Gandhi Statue in the Assembly premises. Protesting Congress Leaders wore black ribbons around their mouth to express their anguish over the defections.

Congress Party demanded disqualification of the 12 MLAs who shifted loyalties to the Ruling TRS within months after the Assembly Polls. They complained, 'Speaker didn't bother to disqualify the defectors but keen to act swiftly on the proposal moved by 12 MLAs. How could Speaker take a decision on merger when the petition moved by Congress against defectors is pending in High Court?'.

In 2018 Assembly Polls, Congress won 19 MLA Seats. If 12 of them defect to TRS and Uttam Kumar Reddy resign after becoming Nalgonda MP, The strength of the National Party in Assembly gets dropped to 6.