2021 T20 World Cup:BCCI Announces complete squad

Wed Oct 13 2021 20:46:24 GMT+0530 (IST)

All the cricketing nations are gearing for the massive tournament T 20 World Cup 2021. The mega event in the shorter format of the game will be started from the 17th of this month, which is four days from today.

Amid reports of Hardik Pandya losing his post in the playing eleven for the World Cup, the Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) had unveiled the list of the final squad with 15 players. As a major change in the squad, all-rounder Shardul Thakur was taken into the team leaving Axar Patel.

Shardul Thakur was given a call into the team after fellow Indian all-rounder Axar Patel was mentioned in the list of standby players. With the inclusion of Axar Patel, the total count of standby players had increased to three, while Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar are the other players.

On the other hand, the cricketing governing body in India BCCI also said that Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, and K Gowtham will also travel with the Indian squad for the T 20 World Cup.

Shardul Thakur is in his best form currently. He played a crucial role in India's win in the historic Border Gavaskar series win in Australia. He also made valuable runs for the team in India's tour of England for the test series with two half-centuries and a few crucial wins. With his inclusion, the Indian squad became even stronger.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami