5 bypolls soon in Andhra Pradesh?

Sun Jun 13 2021 09:32:59 GMT+0530 (IST)

AP Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, it appears, is insisting on the TDP MLAs, who have joined the party, to resign and seek re-election. He has reportedly told them to get public acceptance to their changing of parties.  Sources say that Jagan will make them ministers in the next cabinet reshuffle only after they get public approval through re-election.

In fact, Jagan has consistently maintained that those changing their political parties should resign and seek reelection. Now that his government is about to complete two-and-a-half years, he wants to have a referendum through these bypolls. Chirala MLA Karanam Balaram, Gannavaram MLA Vallabhaneni Vamsimohan, Vizag South MLA Vasupalli Ganesh, Guntur West MLA Maddali Giridhar have resigned from the TDP. They would be admitted into the party after they will the bypoll. Similarly, Vizag north MLA Ganta Srinivasa Rao too has resigned from the legislative assembly. The party wants to win all the five seats in the bypolls, admit them into YSRCP and include some of them when the cabinet reshuffling is done.

If the YSRCP bags both the seats in Vizag, then it could be considered as an approval of his three-capital formula. Significantly, these are the first byelections after the three capital move was brought in. In the recent panchayat , ZPTC and MPTC elections, the state overwhelmingly voted for the YSRCP.