After Gujarat, Uttarakhand, BJP changes another CM ahead of elections

Sun May 15 2022 12:48:26 GMT+0530 (IST)

With just a year to go for assembly elections, the BJP in Tripura has effected a change of guard. Taking a leaf out of the Uttarakhand formula of changing the CMs ahead of elections, the BJP national leadership has asked Biplab Kumar Deb to resign from his post. In a swift move, Rajya Sabha MP Manik Saha was elected the CM of Tripura.

The BJP has changed CMs in Gujarat and Uttarakhand before the elections. While it managed to win Uttarakhand elections, it is hoping to repeat the feat in Gujarat. Biplab Deb's resignation is also being seen as an attempt to regain the lost ground ahead of elections.  Interestingly, Manik Saha was elected a Rajya Sabha MP only recently. This only means that Saha has to get elected to the assembly within six months and the Rajya Sabha too will see a bypoll.

The party leadership hopes that Manik Saha, who is known to be a hard worker, would help the BJP come back to power. He was incharge of the local body polls wherein the BjP has outclassed its rivals. Meanwhile, Biplab Deb said that he would continue to work as an ordinary worker of the party and that he would not leave Tripura. He said he would work with the new chief minister and ensure the victory of the party in the upcoming assembly elections.

Biplab Deb's four-year rule was a bumpy ride with several dissidents riling him. Leaders like Sudip Ray Burman raised a banner of revolt saying he was dictatorial, inexperienced and unpopular. The differences have only got more intense and despite warnings from the national leadership, Biplab Deb continued to go ahead with his bombast. The party decided to change him and replace him with Manik Saha.