After Three Bills Ap Govt To Withdraw Another Crucial Bill

Tue Nov 23 2021 11:28:13 GMT+0530 (IST)

The Andhra Pradesh government led by Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy that had surprised everyone by opting to withdraw the three capitals bill to make a comprehensive bill that faces no issues had taken the people in the state by surprise by announcing the withdrawal of another crucial bill.

Media reports are abuzz that the state government had decided to withdraw the bill to cancel the upper house, the Legislative Council. The same bill is expected to be introduced in the Assembly today. It is also said that the copy of the repeal bill was sent to the Union government by the Andhra Pradesh government.

Experts believe that the YSRCP government had decided to repeal the bill as it makes no snake in abolishing the Upper House where the government enjoys a good majority. As the elections for the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council, the government is aiming to increase its strength so that it won't face any issues with the bills as it faced with the three capitals bill.

The Andhra Pradesh government had decided to abolish the Upper House when the three capitals bill was stopped in the house. Despite getting approved by the Assembly, the Legislative Council did not approve the same and the bill was sent to the select committee and the bills are pending there creating an obstacle.

When the government had the plan of abolishing the Upper House Legislative Council, the opposition Telugu Desam Party(TDP) enjoyed a supermajority that was enough to stop the bills sent by the ruling YSRCP. As things changed upside down and the opposition TDP lost its strength in the house, there was no need for the government to abolish the house.

On the other hand, the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council will face elections for three positions and the elections are scheduled for the 29th of this month. The government had announced the candidates for the three positions. Former MLC D.C. Govind Reddy, Former District Cooperative Central Bank (DCCB) chairman, Vikrant and Ishaq will contest the forthcoming elections. The state government had picked Ishaq for the elections under the minority quota.