BJP strength in West Bengal assembly comes down from 77 to 75

Wed May 12 2021 15:49:06 GMT+0530 (IST)

The BJP strength in West Bengal will drop down from 77 to 75. Two of its MLAs, who had won in the recent elections to the assembly, are also first time MPs. They have decided to keep their MP posts and forego the assembly position.

If an MP or MLC contests and wins as an MLA, he will have to resign any of the post. So when BJP MPs from Cooch Behar and Rana Ghat Nishit Pramanik and Jagannath Sarkar respectively, who won as MLAs had the choice of choosing one, they opted to remain as MPs. In fact both the leaders did not take oath of office as MLAs the other day along with other winners. There was lot of speculation as to why they chose to skip the swearing-in. Both Sarkar and Pramanik indicated that they would prefer to be in the Lok Sabha rather than in Assembly. They got permission from the Central leadership.

The party too felt that their role as MPs is more important as some key bills will come up for voting soon. Secondly, as MPs, these leaders would be in touch with six to seven assembly segments for the coming three years. This would help in building the party organization in the whole area. Hence the Central party leadership too has asked them to remain as MPs.