Congress All Set To Change Another Chief Minister?

Thu Sep 23 2021 12:05:24 GMT+0530 (IST)

It's the CM shuffling time for national political parties. The BJP has replaced five chief ministers in about nine months. The Congress too has edged out Amarinder Singh. As the parties are going for polls, they are shifting their incumbent CMs who are fighting anti-incumbency. The latest is that another Congress CM is well on its way out.

The Congress in power on its own in three states only. They are Punjab, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan. Punjab has got a new CM. In Rajasthan, a keen tussle is on between CM Ashok Gehlot and his deputy Sachin Pilot. Now, dissidence has risen its ugly head in Chhattisgarh too.  In Chhattisgarh, Rahul wanted TS Singh Deo while Sonia wanted Bhupen Baghel. So, an arrangement was worked out where Baghel and Singh Deo would share the CM gaddi for two-and-a-half years each and in that order.

Now that Bhupen Baghel has completed his two-and-a-half year term, Singh Deo faction is demanding the CM post. But, Baghel is refusing to step aside. He has already met the likes of Rahul Gandhi demanding that the promise made to him be implemented. Sources said that Rahul Gandhi told Singh Deo to wait for some more time.

But sources say that Singh Deo has enough numbers to upset the applecart of Baghel.  He is demanding that he be made the CM for the rest of the term. According to sources, Chhatisgarh appears set for a regime change and the Congress high command may shunt out Baghel anytime soon.