Coronavirus Outbreak: Restrictions on Indian Visas

Thu Mar 12 2020 11:22:21 GMT+0530 (IST)

The coronavirus which was originated from the Wuhan province of China has entered India and spreading its wings with around 60 positive patients being reported. Following this, the Central government has opted to suspend all visas till April 15 with an exception for some cases.


The central and state governments have been busy directing the concerned officials to spread awareness on the preventive measures that have to be taken to fight the COVID-19.

The latest decision came after the meeting held with a group of Minister chaired by the Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan.

In this regard, an official statement was released by the government."All existing visas, except diplomatic, official, UN/International organisations, employment and project visas, stand suspended till 15th April 2020. This will come into effect from 1200GMT on 13th March 2020 at the port of departure," the statement read.

The statement went on to say that all incoming travellers, including Indian nationals, arriving from or having visited China, Italy, Iran, the Republic of Korea, France, Spain, and Germany after February 15 will be quarantined for a period of not less than 14 days.