Karnataka By-Poll Results Shock Everyone

Mon Dec 09 2019 14:11:07 GMT+0530 (IST)

15 Karnataka assembly seats went to polls on December 5. The counting of votes began at 8 am in 11 centres in Karnataka. The by-polls were held to fill the vacancies caused by the disqualification of 17 rebel Congress and JD(S) MLAs.

The BJP's Ramesh Jarakiholi wins from Gokak constituency. The BJP has won Athani, Yellapur, Kagwad, Chikkaballapur, Krishnarajapura, Hirekerur, Ranebennur, Krishanrajpur, Mahalakshmi Layout and Gokak. Congress' Rizwan Arshad wins Shivaji Nagar constituency by a margin of 16, 325 votes.

Karnataka Congress leader DK Shivakumar on Karnataka By-poll results says We have to agree with the mandate of the voters of these 15 constituencies. People have accepted the defectors. We have accepted defeat, I don't think we have to be disheartened.

PM Modi addressed a rally in Jharkhand and while addressing in the rally he spoke on Karnataka Bypoll results and expressed his gratitude towards people of Karnataka.

Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa on Karnataka Bypoll results says I am happy that people have given a very good verdict. Now, without any problem, we can give a pro-people and a stable government.