EC announces indefinite postponement of MLC elections in Telugu States

Thu May 13 2021 20:33:44 GMT+0530 (IST)

The elections for three positions in Andhra Pradesh State Legislative Council and six positions in Telangana Legislative Council are due to be held. The tenure of MLCs in AP and TS will come to an end on May 31 and June 3 respectively.

With a lot of discussion going on over the MLC elections, the election body Election Commission of India(ECI) said that the MLC elections were postponed indefinitely in the wake of the Covid outbreak.

The electoral body said that three MLC seats in AP Legislative Council and six positions in Telangana Legislative Council should be filled as the tenure of the members of the Upper House coming to an end.

The elections of the MLC posts in the Telugu states will be under MLAs' quota, which means YSRCP and TRS in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana will have a cakewalk in the biennial elections given their strength in the house.

The Election Commission said that the decision to postpone the MLC elections in two states was taken, taking the situation of the second wave of novel Coronavirus into consideration. Holding the elections till the situation comes under control would not be appropriate, the EC said.

Adding further, the Election Commission said, 'decision on elections will be taken later based on the prevailing situations and what the two Telugu states say about the MLC elections.'