Election Commission Imposes A Ban On Exit Polls!

Wed Oct 16 2019 14:02:58 GMT+0530 (IST)

The Election Commission has issued some guidelines for the telecast of exit polls for the upcoming assembly elections and by-elections. "The ban will be effective from 7,00 am to 6: 30 pm on October 21, when Haryana and Maharashtra have elections", said the election commission. Apart from two parliamentary constituencies of Satara in Maharashtra and Samastipur in Bihar, the Bypolls to 51 Assembly constituencies in 17 states will also be held on the same day. The ban will be imposed on exit polls during these elections also according to EC.

In a statement, the Election Commission Said, "And as per the provisions of Section 126A of The Representation of the People Act, 1951, there shall be restrictions on conduct of any exit poll and publication and dissemination of result of such exit polls during the period notified by the EC."

Election Commission spokesperson Shephali Sharan said, "displaying any election matter, including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey, in any electronic media, would be prohibited during the period of 48 hours ending with the hours fixed for conclusions of polls in the respective polling areas in connection with aforesaid general elections and bye-elections."