Former Union minister Sentenced To 3-year Imprisonment

Mon Oct 26 2020 13:33:04 GMT+0530 (IST)

Former union minister Dilip Ray was today sentenced to three-year imprisonment in a coal scam case.  Ray was convicted over his role in the alleged irregularities in the allocation of a Jharkhand coal block in 1999.

Besides Ray, the CBI court also handed three-year jail sentence to two senior officials of the Ministry of Coal at that time, Pradip Kumar Banerjee and Nitya Nand Gautam, and CTL director Mahendra Kumar Agarwalla. Special Judge Bharat Prashar has also imposed fine of the sum of  10 lakhs each against all convicted individuals.

Reports suggest that the former minister's counsel has decided to move bail for him and also appeal against his conviction.

The CBI had sought life imprisonment for the former Union minister and other convicts, arguing that white-collar crimes are on the rise and maximum punishment was required to send a message to the society.