Kanna Lakshminarayana Made Bjp National Executive Member

Thu Oct 07 2021 17:18:36 GMT+0530 (IST)

In a significant move, BJP national president JP Nadda has included several leaders from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana in the national team. Several key leaders have been given important posts in the party organisational setup. Former president of the AP unit of the party, Kanna Lakshminarayna  has been rehabilitated by making him a member of the national executive committee.

Union minister Kishan Reddy, former MP Garikapati Mohan Rao, former MP AP Jitender Reddy and former MP G Vivek Venkat Swamy have been national executive committee members. Two more prominent faces of the party – former MP Vijayasanthi and former minister Etela Rajender have also been made permanent invitees to the national executive. DK Aruna, Daggubati Purandeswari and Satyakumar have already been appointed as national vice-president, national general secretary and secretary respectively.

As many as 80 members, including veterans LK Advani, Murali Manohar Joshi, have been made members of the national executive. The reconstitution is being deemed quite important in view of the upcoming elections to five states early next year and three more states later next year.

Rehabilitation of Kanna Lakshminarayana is being seen as a key development, because of the way he was removed. Despite the unceremonious way in which he was replaced, Kanna stuck to the BJP. The party clearly recognised the need to rehabilitate him. Now one can hope to see a more active Kanna in Telugu politics. This is important in view of the growing political significance of the Kapu community.