No hopes for TDP in Nellore even in 2024?

Wed Jan 26 2022 08:32:43 GMT+0530 (IST)

Despite the rising anti-incumbency for the YS Jagan government,  Nellore seems to be firmly with the ruling YSRCP. Political watchers say that strong leadership in the YSRCP and the rudderless TDP could ensure that the district falls into the lap of the YSRCP like a ripe fruit. Interestingly, Nellore has always been a YSRCP citadel and that even in 2014, when the TDP won everywhere, Nellore rooted for Jagan and his party.

Many YSRCP leaders are likely to score a hat-trick.  For instance, Nellore rural MLA Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy, who won in 2014 and 2019, is still going strong. The TDP does not have a proper candidate in this constituency. Similarly, Kavali MLA Ramireddy Pratap Reddy too is in a formidable position. The TDP had a strong candidate in Beeda Mastan Rao. But, he has now joined the YSRCP leaving the TDP rudderless.

Mekapati Gautham Reddy from Atmakur and Anil Yadav from Nellore city too are quite strong. Both have won twice and are well on course to score a hat-trick in 2023. Ditto with Kakani Govardhan Reddy of Sarvepalli.  The TDP has former minister Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy, but his political graph has already plateaued. He could not win even in 2009. So, it is likely that Kakan will have a cakewalk.

Another senior YSRCP leader Kiliveti Sanjeevaiah too is going quite strong. Thus, the TDP needs a miracle to rejuvenate itself. Leadership crisis is dogging the district  TDP and the party is suffering a meltdown these days. The YSRCP is well on course to win the district again.