Notification for 6 MLC elections in Telangana likely after Dasara

Tue Oct 12 2021 17:38:21 GMT+0530 (IST)

The notification for the election to the legislative council under the MLA quota  is likely to be issued anytime after Dasara. The term of six MLA quota MLCs has expired in July itself. However, a new election could not be held due to Covid conditions. The election could not be held after Dasara.

The MLAs whose term has expired are: council chairperson Gutta Sukhender Reddy, vice chairperson Neti Vidya Sagar, Bodakunti Venkateswarlu, Kadiyam Srihari, Fareeduddin and Akula Lalitha.  Similarly, the term of governor quota MLC Madireddy Srinivas Reddy has also ended. These seven seats need to be filled as quickly as possible.

Senior leaders like Gutta Sukhender Reddy, former speaker Madhusudhanachary, former minister Fareeduddin, Taduri Srinivas, Sravan Reddy are lobbying hard for these six seats. In place of Madireddy Srinivas Reddy, KCR had sent the name of Padi Kaushik Reddy of Huzurabad under the Governor's quota. But the Governor has kept the file pending and therefore Kaushik Reddy's fate hangs in balance.

Also, 12 of the 14 MLCs elected from the local bodies constituency are going to retire on January 4 next year. KCR's daughter Kalwakuntla Kavitha is also among those who are retiring. All those retiring are TRS members and the TRS is likely to win all of them. But, how many of the sitting MLCs would be re-nominated is not known.