Odisha to undergo lockdown for 14-days starting from May 5!

Sun May 02 2021 14:58:25 GMT+0530 (IST)

Earlier this week, the Union Government said, there will be no lockdown in the country and directed the states and Union territories to impose local restrictions to tackle the virus spread.

Days after the directives, the Odisha government announced a 14-day lockdown on Sunday. The lockdown will come into effect from May 5 and will last till May 19. The government issued an official order in this regard.

To see that people won't face any issues, the government permitted the purchase of essential items between 6 am to 12 PM. However, people should buy these items in shops that are within a radius of 500 meters from their houses.

On the other hand, people are directed to purchase only medical items during the weekends. In the same period, they can avail only the medical services.

However, the lockdown will not apply to people, who will be part of the by-election works in the Pipili Assembly constituency. The election personnel will be allowed to exercise their duties.

"The lockdown is primarily aimed at regulating movement of common people. No restriction has been imposed on goods carriers," the order issued by the Odisha government on the lockdown reads.

Maharashtra, Delhi, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, the two Telugu states are under the restrictions already. Odisha now joined the list of States/ Union Territories to impose restrictions to fight the pandemic spread.