Only one post... too many claimants

Mon Nov 29 2021 18:29:46 GMT+0530 (IST)

There is only one Rajya Sabha vacancy in Telangana as of now. But, there are almost 20 claimants. But the final decision about who would be the Rajya Sabha MP candidate rests with KCR. And KCR has not opened up on this issue so far.

Recently, KCR asked Rajya Sabha MP and Mudiraj community leader Banda Prakash to become an MLC. He has  since been elected from the MLAs quota to the legislative council. Soon, he will have to resign from the Rajya Sabha.  His has three more years of Rajya Sabha term, so the candidate who gets elected in his place would be an MP for three years.

If sources are to be believed, at least 50 candidates are vying for the seat. They are trying to lobby with KTR and other senior leaders. Sources say that at least a couple of candidates from each district are in the fray. Those who tried for MLC seat, but could not get the nomination too are said to be trying their luck.

There is also an intense debate as to who will get the nomination – the loyal batch or the opportunist batch that joined the party after it came to power.  Names such as former MP B Vinod, former minister Tummala Nageswara Rao, former MP Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy, former ministers Motkupalli Narsimhulu and Peddireddy are said to be lobbying hard.

Meanwhile, the name of Karne Prabhakar, Akula Lalitha, Neti Vidyasagar and others are also being heard. These were MLCs till now and have just completed their term. In the social engineering of KCR, they could not get renominated. If sources are to be believed, some industrialists too are lobbying hard to get the RajyaSabha MP post.