Political mood changing in Telangana

Wed Jul 14 2021 15:51:48 GMT+0530 (IST)

In what could be seen as a new trend in Telangana politics, the politicians from the ruling TRS are resigning from the party and are queuing up to join the other parties. Though except Eatala, most of those who are leaving the party are second level leaders, the trend is likely to catch up and the trickle of today could become the deluge of tomorrow.

When TRS came to power, leaders from the Congress and even the Left parties queued up to join the TRS. Some BjP leaders too joined the TRS. There were defections from Congress, TDP and BSP. Both the BSP MLAs had merged into the TRS, while the TDP itself got merged into the TDP in 2018. As for the Congress, several of its MLAs have joined the TRS. Situation in the TRS were such that there were three to four claimants in each constituency.

But the trend seems to be getting reversed these days. Ever since Revanth Reddy became the TPCC chief, the desertions have begun. TRS leader and former Nizamabad mayor Sanjay Dharmapuri, Mahabubnagar BjP chief Erra Sekhar, Bhupalpalli BjP leader Gandra Satyanarayana Rao have announced joining the Congress. Konda Vishweswar Reddy, who maintained some distance with the Congress too, has now shown signs of coming back. It is another matter that both Kaushik Reddy and TDP Telangana chief L Ramana have joined almost the TRS. Yet, the majority of the movement is with the Congress.