Shiv Sena Ready To Leave Maha CM Post To BJP

Sun Nov 03 2019 10:27:57 GMT+0530 (IST)

Now it's almost official. The Shiv Sena has yielded to BJP and has blinked first. In the stand-off over the CM's post, the BJP stood its ground, while the Shiv Sena, despite its tough stance, has reportedly decided not to press for the CM’s post. But, the BJP and the Shiv Sena will now share the ministries fifty-fifty.

BJP's statement that Maharashtra could head for the president's rule seems to have worked on the Shiv Sena. The term of the present government will end by November 8 and if no government is formed by thn, there would be president's rule in the state. The Shiv Sena, according to sources, has agreed to leave the CM post to Fadnavis, but wants 50:50 formula for all other posts, including ministries and chairpersons of various corporations. The BJP has no problem about these.

The BJP has won 105 seats in the 288-member Maharashtra assembly. The Shiv Sena has 56 seats, while the nationalist Congress Party of Sharad Pawar has won 54 seats and the Congress has won 44 seats. BJP sources believed that Shiv Sena knew that it would never get the CM seat. It was only playing for a hard bargain.