TDP Office Becomes YSRCP Office, TDP MPs To Address YSRCP As 'Sir'

Wed Jun 12 2019 11:39:26 GMT+0530 (IST)

The pendulum has swung from one extreme to another for the Telugu Desam Party, which till now was the ruling party in Andhra Pradesh and had a powerful contingent of 17 MPs, 3 defector MPs and five Rajya Sabha MPs. Now, it is not just out of power in AP, it is humiliatingly tucked to a weakling opposition's position. In the Lok Sabha, it just has three MPs.

The YSRCP has won big and is now the fourth largest non-BJP party in the Lok Sabha after the Congress, the DMK and the Trinamool. It enjoys considerable clout in Delhi because it is not completely in the NDA camp and neutral in its behaviour. Now, it needs a bigger Parliamentary party office in Delhi. So, the parliament secretariat has given it a bigger and more spacious office – in fact the same office premises that the TDP has used till now. The TDP has been tucked in a small office as it has just three MPs.

Even here,  the YSRCP has edged out the TDP. More interestingly, if all goes well, then 40-years senior Chandrababu Naidu will have to address Tammineni Seetharam, who is much junior to him as Sir in the assembly as he would be the next Speaker. Similarly, his party MPs in Lok Sabha may have to address a YSRCP man as 'sir' as he the deputy speaker's post is likely to go the YSRCP.