TDP Stalwarts Go Into Silent Mode

Fri Aug 07 2020 15:59:46 GMT+0530 (IST)

Once, East Godavari was a citadel of the Telugu Desam Party. It had produced redoubtable giants in the party and they held sway in politics for far too long. But today, the party is thoroughly demoralized and the cadre is completely disinterested.

The TDP had great leaders like Yanamala Ramakrishnudu, Nimmakayala Chinarajappa, Vegulla Jogeshwara Rao and Butchaiah Chowdary. These leaders were hugely popular in their constituencies and had worked for the party in the most sincere way possible. But, 2019 election seems to have changed it all. None of these leaders are now coming out into the public and are making their presence felt. The party has two MLCs – Chikkala Ramachandra Rao and Yanamala Ramakrishnudu and four MLAs – Nimmakayala China Rajappa, Vegulla Jogeshwara Rao, Butchaih Chowdary and Adireddy Bhavani. But, none of them are active and not one of them is giving a leadership to the party.

Despite several entreaties from Chandrababu Naidu, these leaders are not to be seen in public. They are confined to their residences and have not held a meeting in a long time. With this the cadre is getting disheartened and many are leaving the party for YSRCP.