Triangular fight in TDP in a constituency it did not win in 10 years

Wed Jan 12 2022 13:30:26 GMT+0530 (IST)

The Yerragondapalem constituency in Prakasam district is a known YSRCP citadel. The party had won comfortably in both 2014 and 2019. Despite back-to-back defeats, the TDP, it appears, is not learning any lessons.

Both times Boodala Ajitha Rao contested and lost from the TDP. Both times, she simply disappeared from the scene after the defeat. She wasn't available to the cadre. Finding him an absentee leader, Chandrababu Naidu appointed Erickson Babu as the constituency incharge. For the past one-and-a-half years, Babu has been working hard to rebuild the party.

But suddenly, Ajitha Rao made an appearance on the flexis  of the TDP New Years Day celebrations. This led to heated arguments between the supporters of Ajitha Rao and Erickson Babu. Erickson Babu group reportedly tore the flexis put in support of Ajitha.

Meanwhile, former MLA Palaparthi David Raju too is planning to rejoin the TDP. Raju won in 2014 on YSRCP ticket but later shifted to the TDP. In 2019, he  rejoined the YSRCP. Now, he is trying to rejoin the TDP. He too is said to be eyeing the MLA ticket. Thus, the whole battle within the TDP had become a three-pronged one.

The MLA ticket issue has reportedly been taken to Chandrababu. But, Chandrababu reportedly told them that the candidate would be announced at the last minute and asked them to work together for the party.  Till then, it would be a three-cornered fight within the TDP.