Can Balayya's Son-In-Law Break TDP Myth

Sun Mar 10 2019 12:26:01 GMT+0530 (IST)

Vizag constituency has always been one of the few constituencies in which TDP contestants have never won in the elections. From the past two and half decades, TDP won only once in the elections in  Vizag.

So, the TDP leaders are currently not showing interest in contesting from Vizag as they think thay they  won't win from Vizag constituency even if they contest in the elections. From 1996 to 2014, TDP won only once in this constituency. In 1999, MVVS Murthy is the one who participated in the elections as an MP and won the seat. After that, no leader on cycle have won in any of the elections after that.

Even in 2014, BJP and TDP collaborated and the majority win went to BJP itself. Earlier T. Subbarami Reddy, Nedurumalli Janardhana Reddy and Purandeswari won as MPs from Vizag constituency on Congress ticket. That's where the sentiment started that TDP cannot win from Vizag constituency.

Who is going to contest from Vizag constituency on TDP ticket in the upcoming elections has became a hot topic in the politics now. As per the latest reports, Ganta Srinivasa Rao and Balakrishna's son-in-law Sri Bharat is going to contest from Vizag constituency. Rumours are rife that Ganta Srinivasa Rao is not showing is not at all showing interest in contesting from Vizag constituency because of the sentiment but only accepted because of Nara Chandrababu Naidu.

On the other hand, some are commenting that it is good if Sri Bharat joins the race. As he is the grandson of MVVS Murthy who previously won in 1999, it would work out well for Sri Bharat. However, it is yet to be known who among these two are going to join this race and will they be able to break the myth or not.