WTC Final: BCCI announces Final squad of 11 players on Thursday

Thu Jun 17 2021 20:47:56 GMT+0530 (IST)

Ahead of the crucial World Test Championship (WTC) Final, the Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) has announced the final squad of playing XI on Thursday. India will lock horns with blackcaps New Zealand in the final.

The final squad includes senior speedsters Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, and spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who played a big role in India's crucial wins.

Looking at the batting positions, Hitman Rohit Sharma and young gun Shubman Gill will start the innings, while Cheteshwar Pujara, will bat at no 3. Run Machine 'King Kohli' will be playing at number 4. Ajinkya Rahane will bat at number 5.

Left-handed batsman, who led India to win at the Gabba fortress against mighty Australia has cemented his place at sixth position. Ravichandran Ashwin and 'Sir' Ravindra Jadeja will be seen at the next spots.

Despite displaying heroics in Australia and India against England, Mohammed Siraj was left out from the squad. While Yorker King Jasprit Bumrah will lead the Indian pace attack, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma will be key in the match.

India's tour of the United Kingdom will start with the WTC final. After the final, India will play a test series against England. The series will commence in August this year.