Wait is over, ICC unveils T20 World Cup 2022 schedule

Fri Jan 21 2022 11:57:05 GMT+0530 (IST)

Enough of waiting, the world cricket governing body International Cricket Council(ICC) had unveiled the full details and schedule of the 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup along with the venues of the matches. Whie the inaugural match will be played on the 16th of October, the finale of the grand schedule is scheduled to be played on November 13.

Australia will host the much-awaited prestigious event and seven iconic venues have been fixed to play the matches. Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney will be the venues for the matches. Just like the 2021 edition, the forthcoming edition will also have 45 matches.

Australia, England, New Zealand, and Afghanistan were placed in Group 1. Coming to the other group, India, Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh were placed in it. By the 6th of November, the Super 12s will be over.

The first and second semi-final will be played on November 9th and 10th in Sydney Cricket Ground and Adelaide respectively. The grand finale will be played on the 13th of November.

As key matches in the tournament, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will lock horns, while Australia and black caps New Zealand will face-off against each other.

India which lost the inaugural match in the previous edition against Pakistan breaking the unbeaten record is gearing up to give it back to the arch-rivals. With the Indian batting lineup and bowling attack looking strong, India will give a tough competition to Pakistan when the two teams play each other.

The iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the high-intense match between India and Pakistan. So far India and Pakistan have faced each other six times in the T20 world cup format. India crushed Pakistan five times while India lost to Pakistan in one instance.

Ever since India and Pakistan started to face each other in World Cup matches, India never lost to arch-rivals. Breaking the gynx, India suffered a massive win with a huge margin of ten wickets. With an all-round performance, Pakistan overpowered India and defeated India. The Men in Blue faced back-to-back blows when India lost early wickets of openers Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul.