When Balayya Babu Pipped Past Chandrababu Bava

Wed Sep 22 2021 11:49:41 GMT+0530 (IST)

A big question mark hangs over the future of the TDP in Andhra Pradesh post the stunning defeat of the party in the ZPTC and MPTC elections.  The party's performance is not just dismal, but also no leader of repute could make an impression on the people. But the interesting aspect is that party chief and chief minister for 14 years, Chandrababu Naidu, performed worse than some of his leaders.

While Chandrababu could get just three of the 66 MPTC candidates elected in his home constituency of Kuppam, his brother-in-law  got seven MPTCs elected in Hindupur. Parchuru MLA Euru Sambasiva Rao, Dhulipalla Narendra, Paritala Sunitha got nine, 12 and nine MPTC selected. Palacole MLA Nimmala Ramanaidu and former MLA Chintamaneni Prabhakar too fared a lot better.

Chandrababu could not get even a single ZPTC in Kuppam, while senior leader Ayyanna Patrudu got the TDP elected in his own mandal of Narsipatnam.

In seven districts, the TDP could not even open the account.  In a majority of the 13 districts, the TDP could not reach the double digits.  The people are now asking if Chandrababu still retains the moral authority to lead the Telugu Desam Party. Political analysts feel that Chandrababu may have to do a lot of hard work to regain the lost glory.