Where Will Rs Praveen Kumar Contest From?

Thu Jan 06 2022 16:47:40 GMT+0530 (IST)

Remember RS Praveen Kumar? Yes. We are talking about the senior IPS officer, who became hugely popular because of the way he ran the social welfare gurukul hostels in Telangana and later joined the BSP.  There was a lot of hype and hoopla after he joined the BSP and he was seen as a game-changer messiah for the Dalits.

What is RS Praveen Kumar doing these days? He is currently the state coordinator for the BSP. He is busy organizing the party and setting up its units. He has taken up several agitational programmes in the rural side. It is another matter that there is not much media focus on these protest programmes.

If sources close to him are to be believed, he has decided to contest from Thungathurthy assembly constituency in the 2023 elections. He has already taken a house on rent. He is planning to launch an outreach programme in the constituency. Thungathurthi was a Communist bastion and is known for its political awareness. Hence, RS Praveen Kumar chose this constituency, sources close to him say.

RS Praveen Kumar hails from Alampur in Alampur Jogulamba district. Many expected him to contest from there. But, RSP is reportedly not inclined to contest from there. He prefers to contest from  Thungathurthy  only. Current MLA of  Thungathurthy  is Gyadari Kishor. He has won twice from the same constituency. His rival is Addanki Dayakar of Congress, who lost both times with a narrow margin. Dalit singer Epuri Somanna too is likely to contest from  Thungathurthy  on YSRTP ticket.