Who will be TRS GHMC president?

Sat Sep 11 2021 17:35:22 GMT+0530 (IST)

Who is the party president for the TRS Greater Hyderbad unit? As of now, there is no president for the GHMC unit of the party. If sources are to be believed, a search is on to identify a suitable president for the party. In fact, the party has been busy re-working on the committees since September. New committees are being constituted at the village and ward level. Now all eyes are on the GHMC.

Recently, KTR had addressed the GHMC unit of the TRS. But, the meeting did not have a unit president. Now the search is on for the new president. Till now, Sudarshan Rao, Padmarao Goud, Srinivas and Mynampalli Hanumantha Rao were presidents of the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation unit. The formation of the new committees was stopped after KCR gave primacy to constituency level party units for the 2018 elections. Since then, there is no committee for the GHMC.

The 2020 GMC elections were a mixed bag for the TRS. Though the TRS was the single largest party, it had to take the support of the MIM to have its mayoral candidate elected. The party is said to be looking for a suitable leader for the GHMC unit. Sources say Mynampalli Hanumantha Rao could be given another chance, but his health seems to be a cause for concern. The names of Talasani Kiran Yadav, son of minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav and MLC Shambhipur Raju are doing rounds.

Sources say that the TRS might even appoint district wise presidents for Medchal Malkajgiri and Patancheru parts of the GHMC. If that happens, there could be separate presidents for Hyderabad and Secunderabad. Or the party can have a president for GHMC. Some other names are also being heard for the GHMC president. Let’s wait and see how things unfold in the GHMC.