YCP Disqualified Four MLAs, But What About MP Raju Garu?

Sat Mar 25 2023 17:55:05 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)

The ruling YSRCP faced a big blow with the MLA quota MLC elections. Out of nowhere, the opposition TDP won a seat, credit to the cross-voting of four MLAs. No one expected that the ruling party MLAs would support the opposition party's candidate and help the former Vijayawada Mayor emerge victorious.

The ruling YSRCP immediately swung into action and suspended the four MLAs. The party leadership even said that they received money from the opposition and were offered party tickets for the next elections.

Anam Ramanarayana Reddy (Venkatagiri Assembly Constituency), Mekapati Chandrasekhar Reddy (Udayagiri Assembly Constituency), Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy (Nellore Rural Assembly Constituency) and Vundvalli Sridevi (Tadikonda Assembly Constituency) were suspended for the cross-voting. The suspension was so sharp that within hours the party leadership took the decision.

The suspension issue brought focus on YSRCP rebel MP Raghu Rama Krishna Raju. The MP needs no introduction. He troubled the party so much that he was arrested under sedition law. He alleged that he was mishandled in Police custody and sustained injuries with this.

The MP also aggressively lashed out at the ruling party with some serious words. But he wasn't disqualified. The YSRCP even approached the Speaker against Raju Garu. However, nothing happened to him and he is still an MP of YCP.

So people want to know why the YSRCP leadership is not taking any action against the MP. It takes a lot of procedure to disqualify a legislator. So the YCP leadership felt that the MP cannot be disqualified easily and might have left him alone.