Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

India vs Sri Lanka: BCCI Takes Shocking Calls In Team Selection!

By:  Tupaki Desk   |   28 Dec 2022 9:13 AM GMT
India vs Sri Lanka: BCCI Takes Shocking Calls In Team Selection!
The Cricket governing body in India Board of Control for Cricket in India(BCCI) came under a lot of scrutiny after Men In Blue were knocked out of the Asia Cup and the 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup. Several questions were raised on why failed players were not removed from the team.

As the 50 Over World Cup will be played next year the BCCI wants to make the best team and took some serious decisions. For the upcoming White Ball series, the selectors went with some big changes expecting a good outcome.

Players who are not performing on par with the reputation and expectations were sacked from the upcoming Sri Lanka series. Wicket-keeping batsman Rishabh Pant was not selected for the T20 series and ODI series. The young batsman has not been playing well of late.

The BCCI also removed KL Rahul from the Vice-captain position. Pinch hitter Hardik Pandya was named as the deputy of Hitman Rohit Sharma for the ODI series for the upcoming white ball series.

360 degrees player from India Surya Kumar Yadav, who has been in good touch with the bat was given a chance for the ODI and T20 series as well. The talented batsman was named the Vice President of the team for the T20 series. Hardik Pandya was named the skipper of the team for the short format.

After the T20 World Cup debacle of Team India reports were abuzz that BCCI is in plans to take some serious steps for the T20 format and make the seniors out of it and groom a strong playing eleven.

Adding fuel to this the selectors kept the seniors away from the T20 series. All the senior players were not considered for the team. The young team was selected for the T20- series. It is said that BCCI wants to have a dedicated T20 team.

India's Squad For T20 Series: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.