Not 20, But 8 Ministers To Take Oath In Karnataka Today?

Sat May 20 2023 11:56:15 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)

Putting an end to the long suspense, the Congress party leadership sorted out the possible crisis and picked candidates for Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister posts. The party went with the seniority and experience to pick the Chief Minister and luck shined in favour of senior Congress leader Siddaramaiah. Troubleshooter DK Shiva Kumar was given the position of Deputy Chief Minister.

Media reports said that the Congress leadership held talks with the two leaders and pacified them. Earlier, it was said that both leaders were adamant about getting the Chief Minister post. Before it gets too late the issue was sorted out and the two leaders are given plum posts.

In the entire episode, supporters of both leaders stood by the respective leaders and extended their support for them.  Flexes and banners were also erected. With the issue sorting out, many predicted that leaders from both camps would get a spot in the Cabinet and they would take oath today along with Siddaramaiah and DK Shiva Kumar.

But the Congress leadership gave a big twist and only picked eight names for this. In the place of the predicted 20, just eight MLAs were reportedly given clearance for the ceremony. Following this, they would take oath today afternoon as per the earlier schedule.

The recently held Karnataka elections saw various communities supporting the Congress party. As a result, the party should make sure that every community gets representation in the state cabinet. The Karnataka State Waqf Board Chief and its members said that the community supported the party and hence the Deputy Chief Minister post and other key portfolios should be given to the community. However, this might be implemented fully as DK Shiva Kumar was announced as the Deputy CM.

As of now, only eight MLAs would take oath today as per the information. Dr. G Parameshwara, KH Muniyappa, KJ George, MB Patil, Satish Jarkiholi, Priyank Kharge, Ramalinga Reddy, and BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan would be taking oath today. It is said that the party leadership would work on who others should be made a part of the cabinet looking at various parameters. More details in this regard are awaited.