What Are The Intentions Behind Repealing 3 Capitals Bill:Ap HC?

Tue Nov 23 2021 15:26:10 GMT+0530 (IST)

It is known that the Andhra Pradesh High Court is hearing the petitions pertaining to the three capitals bill. Appearing before the Court on Monday, Andhra Pradesh Advocate General Subrahmanyam Sriram told the court that the government will repeal the three capitals bill. Hours after he made the announcement, the Andhra Pradesh government introduced the same bill in the Assembly.

Now the Andhra Pradesh High Court had issued notices to the government directing it to come with an affidavit on the decision to go for the repeal of the two bills on the three capitals row. For this, the High Court granted time till the 26th of this month that is on Friday.

The High Court's division bench led by Chief Justice Prashant Kumar Mishra heard the bunch of petitions. During the arguments, the bench asked the Advocate General why the government repealed the bill. What are the reasons to go for the repeal, the division bench asked?

Adjourning the next hearing to the 29th of this month, the division bench had asked the Advocate General to submit the bill and inform the court what are the government's intentions behind the repeal of the bills in writing.

The other day, the Andhra Pradesh government announced the repeal of the controversial A.P. Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Act, 2020. The same bill was introduced by the state finance minister Buggana Rajendranath Reddy.

Addressing the house on Monday, Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy said that the bill was repealed to bring a comprehensive bill. The decision to go for the same was to protect the interests of the people of the state.

The Chief Minister added that the new bill which would be brought soon would be made in a way that paves way for the decentralisation of the development. However, he said that he is not against the Amaravati region but wants to develop the whole state.

As per the idea proposed by the YSRCP government, the state will have three capitals rather than having Amaravati as the single capital. Visakhapatnam, Amaravati, and Kurnool will be the Executive, Legislative, and Judiciary capitals of Andhra Pradesh respectively as per the proposal.